Big girl panties and bootstrap mentality

So, yesterday sucked.  But today is a new day.  Instead of letting yesterday drive today, I took charge of my emotional barometer.  Rather than laze around feeling gloomy, I forced myself out of bed  at 5:30 a.m. and made sure I worked out.  YEAH!  Get your blood pumping first thing in the morning, that banishes sadness and brings on the endorphins.  Worked out for forty minutes.  One of my favorite songs in the morning is “I Believe in Love”   Moving my body and listening to music just makes me smile, and it keeps my body from getting grumpy like my mind at times, lol!  I do believe that you have to express your sadness, grief, melancholy or whatever and let it out.  The trick is just not to let it take control and get stuck on you like a wet blanket, or a sand spur.  Feel it, acknowledge it, and let it go..

Then post-shower, with a good hot cup of coffee, I stood on the porch and watched the fog begin to lift while the birds communicated their joy at being alive.  I pondered my diet, which has been downright terrible while I’ve been up here, with lots of processed foods, more sugar than I normally eat and less of the stuff that keeps me running well – coconut oil for MCT’s which help the brain for starters.  There is no fresh source of greens up here, and greens are a daily part of my life down south – kale, chard, collards, spinach.  I forgot my mineral supplement and without the greens, I’m running really low on the minerals that normally oil my machinery.  So I’ll remedy that today. My water intake is down as well, since work has been so hectic I’ve been drinking coffee all day instead of my normal routine of coffee in a.m., then water the rest of the day.  I’ve also eaten a lot of bread, since sandwiches are about all I have time for during work, and most days last week I didn’t even get a lunch break, which means no stepping away to regroup, refresh or anything else.  I love bread, but it doesn’t love me 😦  Too much of it makes me feel bad.  Once I refocus on eating well, I think that will help boost my physical body, and that in turns helps my mental attitude.

As part of my morning re-boot (because sometimes you just have to reboot before you get that blue screen of death, ya know?)  I popped in some Bob Marley as well, and literally counted things to be happy about.  There are a lot of them, and there are more of them than the baddies!

“Never too old, never too bad, never too late, never too sick to start from scratch once again.” -Bikram Choudhury.

I don’t need a new identity.  I know who I am and what makes me happy. I know there is a route and there is work to get from here to there.  And it really is just stuff – emotionally comforting, warm and fuzzy stuff yes, but it still doesn’t define me.  Comfort me, yes. Cheer me, yes.  Make me feel ‘at home’, yes.  So I will find new things to do that, blended with a few of the old things.  And life rocks on.

Be well.  Smile. Get up and DO something. And always look forward, even when it’s foggy, because eventually the fog will lift and the sun will shine.

~SE

Please leave your feedback!

