Macro photo fun

One of my hobbies is photography, a bug that bit me back in High School when I worked for the Yearbook staff.  Over the years I’ve played with the camera on and off, but did not know that in my late husband’s things there was a macro lens for the old Nikon.    Here are a few things I discovered in and about my little place in the sun over the last few weekends.

The lowly marigold, workhorse of the garden world in pest protection, transforms into what appears to be a waxen mold.  I love the miniature flower buds waiting to open in this shot.

Vibrant common marigold, shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100

Vibrant common marigold, shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100

 

This particular flower grows in my container wildflower garden.  Someone suggested that it is horsemint, or Oswego tea.  I am not sure yet, as I’ve grown Oswego before, and have another container of it in another patio section.  We’ll see as both containers grow I guess! The light that seems to emit from this flower captured me, once I opened it up on my computer.  Photos never fail to delight me at what they reveal that cannot be seen at the time of the shutter click.

Shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100.

Shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100.

 

The tiny flower bracts inside the bougainvillea are barely noticeable until you get right up close and personal.  Watch out for thorns though!  The texture appears so velveteen and shimmery to me.

Bougainvillea in bloom. Shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100.

Bougainvillea in bloom. Shot with 250mm lens on Nikon D100.

 

And now back to writing…

 

~SE

Please leave your feedback!

