First Friday Frivolous Foolishness

I have a wickedly honed but weird sense of humor.  When I worked in a ‘pod’ of co-workers, we used to have team conference calls which often were, well, a drag.  My self-assigned task would often be to pull innuendo or irony out of the conversation while on mute, and make up word play, which all of my pod members could hear, but the other attendees could not (thank heavens for MUTE buttons!)  It often resulted in giggles and laughter, which got us through another hour of required work.  I like to laugh, and think we should all laugh more

On Fridays, I’ll try to find and present humorous things I’ve gleaned during the week.  I can’t promise that you’ll share my humor, or that the week will produce more than one thing, or anything.  Some weeks are just a bore, ya know?

I work with clients from all over the world, and sometimes we have to translate E-mails with Google translate if there is no one in the office with that language skill.  One recent eye-opening notice was from a Norwegian client informing us that they were having telco maintenance in their offices.  It translated like this:

 “..as a result of ********* our site will experience violations of their communications during this period.”

 Sounds like the NSA is alive and kicking over there as well…

From a vendor, during a two-week long, intense, daily troubleshooting sessions, reminding us that all hands needed to be on deck for this exercise:

 “…at 15:00 hours, collaboration efforts will begin with all patties engaged”

 Hmph, there was no special sauce attachment either on that meeting invite; I guess we were all just hamburger at that point.

One client uses Alpha acronyms for all of their locations around the world.  I recently received notice of maintenance at a site labeled ****FUK.   Geesh, I hope they aren’t in the same general area with the Norwegian client above!

I have a problem killing things (unless they are food, no problems there, or roaches, blech), and so recently I discovered I am a mom of 100 plus tadpoles (remember the sexy frogs several posts back? Yep, patio magic ensued).  They were living in a pot saucer underneath one of my large planters.  I kept adding a cup of rainwater daily so they wouldn’t roast in the sun.  I finally made the commitment and moved them into one of my rainwater storage buckets. Every morning now I go out to see my little aquatic nursery.  We have a mosquito problem here, no doubt, aided by people like me who collect rainwater for plants, but I digress.  Frogs eat mosquitoes.  I’m raising frogs. I’m doing my part to fight Chikungunya.  And I must ask, does ANYONE else out there get a mental picture of Foghorn Leghorn wearing a bandolier, saying “Well I say, I say, where are those pesky Caribbean mosquitoes?”  (or, am I all alone in my crazy mental boxcar out here…?)

Wrapping today’s fun up with my all time favorite comic snippet:

Credit to Cyanide and Happiness - Explosm.net

Credit to Cyanide and Happiness – Explosm.net

 

Laugh.  Love.  Smile at someone. None of us gets out of here alive, so might as well have some FUN!

 ~SE

  14 comments for “First Friday Frivolous Foolishness

  1. June 27, 2014 at 7:49 AM

    Y’er not alone, cuz crazy is the new norm, don’t ya know? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 27, 2014 at 7:51 AM

      LOL! Great minds think alike, or something like that 🙂

      TGIF!!!

      Like

  2. June 27, 2014 at 7:54 AM

    Work=writing material. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 27, 2014 at 7:56 AM

      Hey, I find humor where I can 🙂 Breaks the stress levels.

      Like

  3. Embracing a Wounded Soul
    June 27, 2014 at 8:03 AM

    Thanks for the giggles. Enjoyed this post very much. Really love the comic strip.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. June 27, 2014 at 8:09 AM

    So glad you shared some laughter! Offsets some of the somber stuff I write (I hope!) Keep smiling… 😀

    Like

  5. June 27, 2014 at 9:03 AM

    I love funny! Thanks for liking my post 🙂
    Keep smiling, it’s FRIDAY!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. June 27, 2014 at 9:13 AM

    Yay! Time to focus on my ❤ work, writing. Thanks for visiting!

    Like

  7. June 27, 2014 at 9:53 AM

    Thanks for that missus!

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 27, 2014 at 9:56 AM

      Considering your most excellent and wry wit, thank you for the compliment Sista!

      Like

  8. June 27, 2014 at 6:18 PM

    Love C&H!

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 27, 2014 at 6:21 PM

      Like the cynical version of Pon and Zi….LOL!

      Like

  9. Willy Nilly
    June 27, 2014 at 8:24 PM

    We could use you in our cubie farm. You might just start a cubie revolution! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. June 27, 2014 at 8:33 PM

    CubeRev…let it begin!

    Like

Please leave your feedback!

