8.18.14 Monday Music Mention – Idan Raichel Project

The Idan Raichel Project will probably be someone most of you’ve not heard of unless you’ve a penchant for Israeli music.  The project attempted to gather  the voices in Israel together in music – cross cultural and cross linguistic, it focuses on working together in a place where such an idea is often only a dream.

Idan started off playing the accordion at age nine.  I’m glad he went further 🙂  You can read about the project here:

http://www.idanraichelproject.com/en/

Although some of the live performances are better in my opinion, I’ve tried to provide links that include English translations for better understanding.  Enjoy!

My all time favorite, probably due to the subject matter and the triple languages woven into the song: Ethiopian, Amharic and Hebrew.

The first song I ever heard of Idan’s, sent to me by an Israeli friend on a mix CD made for me.  I couldn’t stop listening!

A softer, more poignant sound – I’ve provided the English translation of the lyrics:

Sheeriot Shel HaChaim (Scraps of Life)

What is time telling me
Its all scraps of life
And to?live the moment
To begin collecting the shards
Maybe I will get out more
Start to speed up a bit
Start to get along
And make some noise
Maybe a different place
A more exciting place
Start to shake things up
And make them right again

Last but not least, a beautiful song in Hebrew and sign language.

The Project has a new CD coming out, so if you like their talent, visit the site above and let them know with your monies 🙂

~SE

 

 

  6 comments for “8.18.14 Monday Music Mention – Idan Raichel Project

  1. alfredsalmanac
    August 18, 2014 at 7:13 PM

    Never heard anything like this before. Its interesting. Not saying i would buy it, but I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 18, 2014 at 8:13 PM

      Glad you liked it 🙂 I have fairly eclectic musical taste, so I just like to introduce new things to people. Great background music for lamb kabobs (grin)

      Liked by 1 person

      • alfredsalmanac
        August 18, 2014 at 8:30 PM

        You have a great taste in music. Eclectic is best.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. August 19, 2014 at 4:56 PM

    כבר האזנתי למוסיקה שלו מזמן. טוב מאוד. בחירה מצוינת!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Willy Nilly
    August 20, 2014 at 10:44 PM

    Captivating music. The translation was very helpful but the melody alone was enough to keep me fixed in place.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your feedback!

