And so it begins…

I did it!  I am now the owner of a rolling version of a tiny house.  Well, me and the credit union 🙂 And yes, I drove it, adrenaline inducing event that was. I’m scheduled for a full driving course prior to taking actual delivery, after it goes through its bells and whistles review and safety testing.

La coquille entre deux

La coquille entre deux

 

For a long time now I have been plotting and dreaming of a way to return to the woods in some fashion. As I couch-surfed initially after the loss of the farm, and then rented, watching money go down the drain for nothing to show at the end, I have inwardly fumed and fretted and imagined.  For nearly three years I have lived behind a  square six-foot fence enclosed tiny studio that flooded and has had squirrels and fruit rats running amok in the dropped ceiling; the one with the tiles that rise and fall like Styrofoam piano keys any time there is a decent wind, and watched pink fiberglass now orange with age occasionally puff out from the edges, and I have dreamed.  I have wrestled with the person who planned so poorly while things were good and berated her, even though truth is, she couldn’t have known how things were going to turn out. Still, she could have planned better. In the process I’ve become so annoyingly analytic about some things that I irritate my own self.  Where often there used to be joie de vivre there is now sometimes this plodding and painstaking person, who will then on a whim throw caution to the wind after causing herself so much damn inner turmoil. Yes, I mean me 🙂

 
Being here in the micro-haus after I did the final clean out of the farm has been brutal, but I refused to pay to store my crap. I’d either have to live with it, or get rid of it.  Mostly I’ve lived with it, carting a box or so off once in a great while.  Now I am carting off, parsing out and donating with intent. Yes, even shoes have left the building (grudgingly). The space of an RV is actually larger than where I have been living.  It is just laid out differently with less open space to cram a box or a Rubbermaid tub into – well, and still be able to walk. Plus, they have a maximum weight limit safe for the chassis 😉

My original plan was to buy cash, but I soon learned that I could have another grandchild or two arrive waiting for the livable RV that I could buy for cash without worrying about falling through the floor or having a ceiling crash in on me, or living with more black mold than I’ve put up with here. So I bumped my budget and began hunting. I promised myself I would not buy anything the first time I found something that I considered really a good deal. I watched one or two get snapped up, but I stood by my commitment. Finally, I found something that was selling for more than the actual determined value by the tireless arbiter NADA value. Still, I did not buy on first view. I negotiated a bit to see if my budget could handle it and went home to think about it. As of yesterday, I am an RV owner!  I have named her  “La Coquille Entre Deux”, which roughly translated from French is ” The shell in between”. It is the beginning of my transition to smaller and simpler living, in between here and the beloved woods, and I can always duck into it, like a turtle to its shell. I will have more thoughts in the future about such a massive change in living environments, but they might be slow to arrive as I prepare to move. Please be patient with me as time is now a premium (isn’t it always?!?)

Now I have to find a place to park it!

The road to...?

The road to…?

I have to decide if I will nomad it for a while, trying on different living spaces like Goldilocks, or settling right away and living with my choice for an annual lease. One decision always leads to another. Currently the most commonly heard decision discussion taking place around here with myself moment by moment is: “Do I really need this?”

Thanks for taking this ride with me!

~SE

  9 comments for “And so it begins…

  1. March 3, 2015 at 9:07 AM

    Congratulations and good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 5, 2015 at 8:25 AM

      Thank you! It is home ownership again, albeit in a smaller, more portable form. But you don’t get to buy new furniture! LOL. I appreciate you stopping by.

      Like

  2. March 3, 2015 at 9:09 AM

    sounds like the beginning of an adventure for you; enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 5, 2015 at 8:26 AM

      For me, just getting out of bed each day is an adventure 🙂 It does make the travel bug come out of slumber, until I remember the price of gas these days. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. March 6, 2015 at 3:26 PM

    S
    Home sweet home!!!!!! Home is where you drive to. I’ll hitch a ride once well. I’m so tired of living on couch. A Tiny House would feel like a mansion.
    Send me theses post! There great. You are funny as hell. I do need the laughing these days.
    Hugs
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  4. March 10, 2015 at 10:46 PM

    Reblogged this on SURVIVORS BLOG HERE.

    Like

  5. March 10, 2015 at 11:00 PM

    S
    Thank you, everyone is going to get a huge laugh out of! Take care.
    M

    Like

  6. Randstein
    March 11, 2015 at 12:11 AM

    Now you only need a few of the Traveling Wilburys albums and you are all set. Great post and I have a feeling you will be cutting the ties forever to static living. Congrats on a job well done 🙂

    Like

Please leave your feedback!

