Rose Seep Visionary – a poem

****************************

Did I feel a tug at the corner of the dream
Which I must have ignored, glossed over
Darted at through rose-colored glasses
Via an edgewise glance

And kept on dreaming, looking forward

Did I hear ambivalence whisper, or
Was it dissonance maybe?
They can be so hard to differentiate, tease apart
No matter which, dream delay dances with either indiscriminately

And I keep dreaming, looking forward

Did I cut myself on edges of expectation
The glittering shards of excitement perhaps;
Either, or, the life drain dripped
As I moved towards a distant goal,blithely unawares.

And I kept dreaming, looking forward

All along I have thought my rosy vision
Was a gift, never once imagining that
The visionary tint was from seepage of a thousand
Paper cuts into the soft flesh of dreamy eyes

So I no longer wonder why I am drained;
Looking at the puddles at my feet in this moment
Fingering the bagged evidence of previous clean ups hidden behind
Smiles, can-do thinking and coated with the grit of determination

And so, I keep dreaming

Gently and quickly bandaging the seeps,
Tenderly applying the balm of “What if…?”
Relying on an infusion of “But surely…”
All the while busily swallowing a dose of stony reality that catches in my throat

Because it is dreaming that keeps me moving and seeing at all.

************************

~SE

  2 comments for “Rose Seep Visionary – a poem

  1. alfredsalmanac
    February 6, 2015 at 12:56 PM

    Very moving and heartfelt.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your feedback!

