Pampering, planning and the musical backdrop

Going to a salon is not really about vanity so much.  It is about going some place where someone takes care of you. I was reminded of this yesterday, as someone brought me coffee, I read magazines I normally do not see and enjoy human touch while having my hair washed. I don’t go any place fancy, but I am always treated well and leave with renewed vigor in my step and feeling a little spiffy and pampered.

On to planning for my next road trip, much of that I accomplished Sunday, but not all of it. I am hoping by mid-week my work life is falling short of the 14 hour days and back into normalcy a bit. Hey, I AM an optimist 😀  The final rush will come Friday as I once again drop off the dog, load the car and hopefully get on the road early so I can have an easy trip.  In between comes car repairs and airing out the camping gear and a hundred other small things. I spoke to the new widow and she seemed to be coping fairly well and is receptive to my visit. I have to tell you, it is weird calling to advise someone you are coming to your own home, which was being purchased as their home, and then life changes everything up.  It is one time I wish that money were no issue, so that it really wouldn’t matter about her means and I could give her time on my dime.  But that ain’t the way the cookie is currently crumbling.

I’m also making room in my freezer for the arrival of this year’s venison and I am so excited! Thanks to a generous hunting friend of mine, I expect to lay some nice venison steaks on my tiny grill in the future.  I wonder if I will get to keep the antlers, as it looks like an 8 pointer, but I’m still a little sketchy on how that determination works. Regardless, I am extremely thankful for what will amount to probably a year’s worth of meat for me. I am always humbled by the generosity and open-handedness of my friends. I look forward to the time when I can reciprocate in some way.

And here are some songs that were my backdrop yesterday while whittling away at my chores.  This one goes out to my friend the ‘Deer Whisperer’:.

 

That led me to tripping down memory lane to some touch point songs at different periods in my life.  Here is a random selection of a few. I think I wore out the “Shooting Rubber Bands at the Stars” media 🙂

 

And two current favorites by Telepopmusik:

 

Musical whiplash, I know.  Welcome to my eclectic mind, where homesteading and survival nestle up against poetry and art, where reggae and classical share bunks, and don’t trip over the kale and sprouts hidden behind my zinnias, cuz every day is new!

Angular

Angular

 

Happy Monday all 🙂

~SE

  4 comments for “Pampering, planning and the musical backdrop

  1. November 11, 2014 at 9:00 AM

    Good luck on that road trip 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alfredsalmanac
    February 6, 2015 at 1:03 PM

    Hello Again, it seems I have a fair bit of catching up to do. I must confess to being very lazy and not doing very much reading.You have access to fresh venison? Can I say it that way, fresh venison? Anyhow, I mean its not from a shop and frozen and packaged in plastic, sounds fantastic.I am a little jealous. I will be catching up over the next few days and I hope you enjoyed your road trip.

    Like

    • February 6, 2015 at 6:04 PM

      Yes, I have a great friend who hunts who was kind enough to provide fresh venison this year. And welcome back! I’m busier too these days. Always happy to have you drop in 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your feedback!

