Decisions, always decisions about writing

I’ve spent the last two days thinking over this experiment that I practiced in July, of posting almost every day.  I wanted to see if I could keep that pace, while working and trying to have a semblance of life with my family and friends as well.  I enjoyed it immensely, but I have found my wall 🙂

I have been exhausted most of the time and my off-line writing has suffered; I’ve been less than I could be at work too I am afraid. Friendships have endured a short-shrift of my attention. I will continue to post regularly, just not every day. I think I will also pull in some of my other works more frequently too (my apologies to those of you who have all of me in your reader – you can just speed by those posts, lol!)

Since I am re-energizing today, I will post my latest poetry work and a favored photo or two from here or there.  I hope that by changing this pace, I will still continue to write things of value and resonance for you, build up my writing behind the scenes which my future dreams hang upon, and get some much needed rest.  It is at this point I envy those with some slight mania in their personality mix, or who are freed from the bonds of daily office work!  Alas, we work with the twenty-four hours a day that we have 🙂

 

LUM CR DSC_3797

Sheet Music

If I were a melody in your mind, how would you write me?
In Adagio perhaps, as in the best way to approach.
Would you linger over Staccato, to match your heartbeat in my presence?
And although some may prefer Delicato,
It seems best paired with Appassionato, as two hearts enfold into one.

With tempo written, how would then you elicit my sound?
Gentle finger strokes upon ivory, scaling the highs and lows
Lovingly drawing a bow long and slow across heartstrings, echoing
Would you form the strong embouchure required of the reeds and brass
Or be the pounding, driving force holding together the pace found in the percussion line.

How would I sound in your mouth, now that my pace and tone are established?
A siren call of the torch singers of renown – smoky, low and sensual?
As emotional as an aria in the delivery of a stellar tenor declaring fidelity?
Would I be longing, desire and regret undertones in the wail of the blues?
Maybe, I would just be a jazzy, off-key tune you hummed under your breath with a smile.

However you would craft the melody of me
It would always be our background score
Most likely ever-changing, just as we
But always our own, very personal

-sheet music.

CR Razr 7.04.14 028

 

Thank you as always for reading me and sharing a portion of your limited time on the things that I produce.  I value it very much.

Warmly,

~Sheket

  14 comments for “Decisions, always decisions about writing

  1. August 2, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    It does take a lot out of you if you have a real life. Smiles>KB

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 2, 2014 at 6:00 PM

      I confess, I have loved it – thinking, creating, imagining. But, it has been taxing. And the push was all mine, to see what I ‘could’ do. I know now, that when my work life is different, that I will experience true joy in my heart work. For now, I just have to measure it 🙂 Thank you as always, for your encouragement KB.

      Like

  2. alfredsalmanac
    August 2, 2014 at 6:10 PM

    I completely understand your decision. It is bloody hard work juggling a job, a life, family and blogging. I think I’m going to copy you;) you will be missed. Thanks for all the support you have shown over the last few months. I look forward to your return. Be well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 2, 2014 at 6:15 PM

      Thank you Paul, you are always so encouraging, and I appreciate it. Perhaps it will work out like that odd country song “How can I miss you if you won’t go away?” LOL! I’ll be here regularly, just not, every day unless a mood strikes me. Just call me unpredictable 😉 (mutters about subversive tendencies while sauntering away…)

      Like

  3. August 2, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I absolutely understand the writing limitations. 🙂 I only post once a week and sometimes that’s a push.
    The poem is so luscious! You are so talented. I’m going to share it with one of my music friends. Thank you for creating such beautiful work. We’ll happily take what you can comfortably offer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 2, 2014 at 7:08 PM

      Thank you Bren, for your encouragement and appreciation, it means much. Feel free to share the poem, for there is no greater honor than to have your words bandied about with others 🙂

      Like

  4. August 2, 2014 at 8:15 PM

    A post a day is quite a lot to juggle with 3d life demands. I a looking forward to hear more on your “downsizing” project! I don’t do much blogging when I have the kids…I have to hold all the “stuff” in my head, then download it onto my blog in waves…Now that school has started, mine will dwindle a bit too….your writing is truly inspiring and motivating (ie-the downsizing project-lol) (((hugs)))💛

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 2, 2014 at 8:21 PM

      Thank you AoA. I keep small notebooks, a voice recorder and an always open document on the laptop to record thoughts, impressions, feelings. They will usually burble up at a later time, when my mind has toyed with it in the background while I was doing other things 🙂 I appreciate your thoughtful words about my writing. (((hugs back)))

      PS. I need time to attend to that darn downsizing project too! I’ve been remiss on that 😀

      Like

  5. August 3, 2014 at 1:36 AM

    What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own personal blog, so feel free to check out my profile where you’ll find my blog and social media sites.

    Have a great day 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. August 3, 2014 at 12:25 PM

    Beautiful words and images, but yes, make sure you take some time for yourself so you don’t burn out on everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 3, 2014 at 1:20 PM

      That’s exactly what I felt stalking me, so I wanted to change positions so burn-out couldn’t find me! Thank you Priya, I appreciate your encouragement.

      Like

  7. August 4, 2014 at 1:45 PM

    I love the photo of the water droplets! Posting everyday? Sure, I would love to do that too. But life already has so many obligations. Why turn writing, a delight, a joy, a love, a passion, into an obligation? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 5, 2014 at 7:44 AM

      Oh, it’s not the writing that is the problem – I could do that all day 🙂 It’s the rest of darn life that infringes upon it 😀

      I love green things with water, so glad you enjoyed it too!

      Like

Please leave your feedback!